1940s Wiggle Skirt, Floral Blouse, and Self-Esteem

“Like my grandmother used to say, ‘there’s no better dressing than meat on bones.'”

Although I was a chubby child, and a chubby preteen, and a semi-chubby teen, I wasn’t self-conscious. What impresses me most about my young self is that I felt utterly beautiful despite the fact that I was more or less average and a bit overweight.

Perhaps seeing the film Real Women Have Curves helped shape my confidence at the fragile age of twelve; or maybe we’re so carefree at that age that body image doesn’t necessarily exist. Whatever the reason for my misguided perception, it eventually disappeared as I grew older despite the fact that I also became thinner.

Fast forward to my early twenties and I’m diagnosed with a mild form of Body Dysmorphic Disorder, in which I still physically feel, and see myself, as overweight. Because of this, I’m generally uncomfortable wearing wiggle dresses, wiggle skirts, or anything that clings to my stomach. But for some reason I feel confident in vintage clothes, particularly in this vintage skirt from the 1950s, which makes me feel anything but self-conscious.

Over time, and it’s still a work in progress, I’ve come to realize that although I may not have a perfectly flat stomach or a thigh gap, my figure is beautiful. I have an hourglass shape with curves in all the right places, just as my grandmother did, and just as all of the other bombshells from the 1940s and ’50s.

So here’s to the girls who may not look, or feel, like the models of today, but who are built like the models of the midcentury. And those are the women who are truly sexy.

Blouse: Floral Button Down – H&M | Skirt: Vintage 50s Fontana Army Green Wool & Leather Pencil Skirt – Birthday Life Vintage | Shoes: Brown Leather Lace Up Oxfords – Office

miss-lola-wren-signature

Leave a Reply

