Vertical Stripes, Red Sandals, and Flower Beds

“All the flowers would have very extra special powers. They would sit and talk to me for hours when I’m lonely in a world of my own.” –Alice in Wonderland

DSC_1075DSC_1081DSC_1083IMG_7049DSC_1090DSC_1088

Whenever I visit my local flower shop, I’m reminded of Alice in Wonderland. One of my favorite scenes in that film is when Alice is a mere 3-inches tall and surrounded by beautiful, singing flowers. Although the flowers at Cedar Grove Gardens don’t sing, I happen to know every word to “All In a Golden Afternoon” (and may have been humming it quietly in between photos).

I grew up having a small vegetable garden on the side of my house and lilac bushes that bloomed just around my birthday. I haven’t had a proper garden since I was a girl and living in a city certainly hasn’t provided me with the opportunity for one. There’s something very peaceful about tending your own garden, and it’s a tranquility that I miss every so often. But at my local garden shop, I feel like Alice sitting amongst the flowers in a world of my own.

Dress: Taupe Stripe Colette A-Line Dress – Lindy Bop | Petticoat: Va Va Voluminous in White (Short) – Modcloth | Shoes: Beaufort Beauty Sandal in Crimson – Modcloth

miss-lola-wren-signature

Leave a Reply

