Black Lace, Midnight Release, and Mischief Managed

IMG_7118DSC_0099DSC_0105DSC_0108

Midnight book releases are always magical (no pun intended, or maybe it was). The first, and last, book premiere I attended was Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix until Saturday.

The Harvard bookstore was hosting an event in which they showed Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone on a huge outdoor screen and, at midnight, sold Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. Now, when I say we attended the release I mean we showed up, grabbed some themed postcards and Bertie Bots Every Flavor Beans, tried to lay out our blanket to watch the film but ended up getting squished and stepped on, and then left.

Maybe when you reach your mid-twenties you realize that you can just wait until the next morning to get a book. And that’s what we did. But before we realized how insanely packed the release was, we wandered around the Harvard bookstore where I displayed my loyalty to a few of my favorite characters.

Many aspects of my physical characteristics are closely tied to Harry Potter (which my mom is not thrilled about). The first being my Dark Mark tattoo. It took me four years to decide on this tattoo and I strategically picked the book version, and got it in the same place on my arm as the Death Eaters. No, I’m not a Death Eater, even though my hair is inspired by Narcissa Malfoy. It’s dedicated to one of the most important characters of all, Professor Severus Snape, and it’s my reminder to always stay in the light despite how tempting the dark can be.

The second, which I just mentioned, is my Madam Malfoy-inspired hair. I feel like her importance in the outcome of the story is underrated. She’s one of the main reasons Harry was able to defeat Voldemort. Had she not lied about Harry being alive, Voldemort would have survived. She also possesses some characteristics similar to Lily Potter, in that her loyalty lies with her family despite the fact that betraying Voldemort would lead to her death.

The last being another tattoo, a quote from Albus Dumbledore: “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” Dumbledore says this to Harry while he’s mesmerized by the Mirror or Erised, which is desire backwards, but you probably knew that. It’s one of the most powerful quotes in the series for me, and I try to live by it, but sometimes dreams are too much fun, like imagining you go to Hogwarts.

Blouse: American Apparel | Skirt: Forever 21 | Shoes: Swing Along Heel in Noir – Modcloth

miss-lola-wren-signature

Leave a Reply

