Bowler Hats, Black Flats and a Step Back in Time

DSC_0048DSC_0050DSC_0053DSC_0058DSC_0063DSC_0065DSC_0075DSC_0082DSC_0086

I’ve always been wary of hats. In fact, I’ve always been a minimalist when it comes to accessories. My mom has always tried to encourage me to wear more jewelry, but my theory was always that it’s better to underdress than overdress. Eventually I came to realize that my mom was right, but then again parents always are.

I stumbled upon Goorin Bros. Hat Shop a few years back, but was still in my “too shy to wear vintage or make any kind of fashion statement” phase. My second trip to Goorin Bros. last weekend was a totally different experience. The shop is filled with the classic fedoras that my grandfather wore, dainty hats that I see on women in my favorite Hollywood classics, and a plethora of feathers and buttons to customize your favorite cap. Needless to say, this place is a vintage fashion lover’s heaven.

Anthony and I found at least three hats that each of us would have easily dropped $70 on, had we not been on a budget (saving for our trip to Disney/Wizarding World in October). Goorin Bros. makes quality hats that are easily worth the price point. Not only is the store beautiful, but it’s also extremely nostalgic. Granted, I’m a sentimental person, but the atmosphere made me feel a little bit closer to my grandfather, seeing replicas of the hats he wore in the few pictures I have of him.

So if you’re looking to step back in time and find some absolutely fabulous, and well-made, hats, then stroll into one of Gorrin Bros. Hat Shops. I know I’ll certainly be back to grab the Tina Flapper hat.

Dress: Lindy Bop | Shoes: Swing Along Heel in Noir – Modcloth

miss-lola-wren-signature

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Bowler Hats, Black Flats and a Step Back in Time

Leave a Reply

