Harlequin, a Touch of Black, and Some Hocus Pocus

Ever since I can remember I’ve wanted to be a witch. My first inspiration was Samantha from Bewitched, then Sabrina the Teenage Witch, then Harry Potter, and the list goes on. Believe it or not, I had never watched Hocus Pocus when I was little. I first saw it two years ago and I instantly became hooked! So when I found out that the film was actually filmed in Salem, I had to go check out some of the locations. Fortunately, Salem is only a 30-minute drive from Boston!
The first time I went to Salem was rather lackluster. I thought maybe I had hyped up the experience in my head. I soon discovered that was not true upon my second trip. I don’t know how to describe the feeling Salem gives me other than that I belong there. Something calls me there. Perhaps it’s wishful thinking that I’m actually a witch, or maybe it’s that it caters to one of my favorite legends, but there’s something about it that I can’t quite put my finger on.

Not only does the town fully embrace it’s witchy past, with a statue of Samantha on a broom in the square, shops selling oddities and advertising palm-readings, but it has an artsy feeling to it. But back to all things witchy:

Our first stop in Salem was Max and Dani’s house. It’s owned by an adorable older couple who seemed quite used to people stopping and taking pictures of their home. Next was the Old Town Hall, which was a bit difficult to capture due to it’s rather tall, but not as wide, structure. There were several other locations to see, so we quickly moved on to The Witch House. This was the home of Judge Jonathon Corwin and is the only structure still standing with direct ties to the Salem Witch Trials of 1692.

On our way out of town, we stopped by Samantha one last time to say goodbye to my witchy soul sister. And, of course, had to take a video of me twitching my nose in front of her statue.

Skirt: Pinup Couture Jenny Skirt in 1950s Harlequin Print – Pinup Girl Clothing

blog-signature

2 thoughts on “Harlequin, a Touch of Black, and Some Hocus Pocus

  1. STILL cannot believe we were there at the same time and didn’t cross paths – it’s amusing actually!! We probably walked in areas around each other but not quite close enough!! It would have been great to have run into you, though. Perhaps we plan to meet up soon!

    You look adorable in Salem! I can totally see that you do feel at home there. It is tremendously fun – though we avoid going in October as it gets INSANE!!

    Like

    1. I know, how crazy is that! We should plan to meet up! We could encourage each other to spend all the money at Modern Millie, haha! I wanted to go to Salem for Halloween last year but my coworkers warned me that it’s a madhouse. Fortunately I’ll be at Wizarding World this year!

      Like

Leave a Reply

