The BBRBF Book Club: Greener Pastures, Beehives, and “Frankenstein”

Hello and welcome to another exciting BBRBF Book Club review! We’re getting spooky in the book club this month and decided to read Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein at the recommendation of Kathrine from The Miss Information Blog.

img_0640

Let me start by saying that I loved this book. Not only was the topic fascinating, being a biology student, but Shelley’s writing is nothing short of lyrical. Both Victor Frankenstein and his creation express their anguish with such beauty that you almost forget their sufferings.

Aside from the fluent writing, my connection to this book emanates from the monster’s malevolent reaction to his own societal rejection. That, inherently his nature was curious and benevolent, but man’s fear and lack of understanding turned him into a “daemon” as he is thus referred. Can we not all relate to this? Perhaps not the homicidal actions taken, but the pain felt from rejection when all of your intentions are pure.

Being cast aside from society, the monster implores Frankenstein to create him a mate. He goes on to plead with Victor with lines such as “It is true, we shall be monsters, cut off from all the world; but on that account we shall be more attached to one another.” The sheer eloquence in which he begs for a companion eventually convinces Frankenstein to concede to his wishes.

Upon further reflection of his monster’s various murders (that of Frankenstein’s youngest brother and, inadvertently, a servant girl charged with that murder), he shudders to think of the temperament of this new creature. What if she should reject his first creation, how would the monster react? What is she were more maniacal then he? Despite the fact that Frankenstein has begun his work, he destroys his second creation without fear of the consequences.

The monster then goes on to murder Frankenstein’s best friend and, eventually, his wife. Fueled by revenge, Victor follows the monster for months on end with the intention of bringing him to his demise. Eventually, Frankenstein is brought to the edge of death and just after his last words, the monster appears at his bedside. The monster expresses his sentiments of despair over having lost his creator, and vows to go off to fulfill Frankenstein’s final wish: the death of his creation.

Through my outfit choice, I strived to convey what would have been Frankenstein’s second creation: the bride of Frankenstein. I wanted to instill a sense of both fear and malice in her countenance: hiding in the woods from society, but plotting her revenge.

I attempted my first beehive for this look, trying to capture the quintessential Bride of Frankenstein hair, but I’ll definitely need some practice (it must be bigger!). The dress is one of my absolute favorites that I bought from Modcloth. I splurged on it last Christmas and couldn’t be happier (and it certainly came in handy for this look). It’s made by Retrolicious and have henceforth stalked their site for other jems!

Curious what the other girls had to say about Frankenstein? Check out their reviews: In a Nutshell…, The Classy Junk, and The Eyre Effect! And stay tuned for our next BBRBF Book Club review of Not Working by Lisa Owens!

blog-signature

6 thoughts on “The BBRBF Book Club: Greener Pastures, Beehives, and “Frankenstein”

  1. Nice, girl! I love this outfit and location – you look totally like a mod Frankenstein bride! I love your perspective on the book and wish I understood more to get more out of it! Alas, I was always what I like to call the “world’s worst English major” (if you couldn’t tell by my review) and dislike how classic works were written. I suppose even though my style is vintage, I am a modern reader! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree completely with what you said about how it’s written, how it’s so romantic and eloquent! I love classics for this reason! And your outfit is PERFECT. It’s totally a retro Monster’s Bride look. Especially with your hair and the streak you have going! Love.

    Kristina | eyreeffect.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

