1950’s Florals, a Touch of Yellow, and a Bit of Class

I’m a big proponent of mixing modern with vintage, especially since vintage tends to be on the pricier side. Fortunately, there’s a plethora of reproduction clothing companies out there and my latest discover was this 1950s Sleeveless Patchwork Vintage Dress by OUGES.

Generally speaking, I’m not a fan of the color white. I find that it tends to wash me out while looking completely lackluster against my skin tone. That being said, I’m head over heels for this dress.

I spent a few days going back and forth between this colorway and another with a black top (but the same skirt) due to my initial aversion to white; however, I came to the conclusion that this combination was more adaptable, particularly with the many coats I want to wear over it.

The dress is made out of an incredibly silky material that provides just enough give to make it comfortable while standing, sitting, stretching, you name it. My only qualm with the dress is the sizing. My measurements (36″ bust, 28″ waist) warranted a size medium, which the size chart indicated would fit a 34-38″ bust and 28-31″ waist. Upon receiving the dress, I was only able to zip it up with the help of my boyfriend; however, it did loosen as the day wore on. So, if anything, I would recommend sizing up if you’re nearing the larger side of the measurements provided.

I paired this gorgeous gown with my Va Va Voluminous Petticoat from Modcloth to give it some extra oomph, and I couldn’t be happier that it still landed right at my knee. It’s all in the details when it comes to dresses and the back of this one has an elegant v-shape that give it a more refined look.

The finishing touch to this ensemble (aside from my bright yellow shoes, of course) was the vintage brooch. I had yet to find the right occasion for this floral beauty, but I loved the way the brass stood out against the blue of the coat and the white of the dress.

What I love most about this dress is the pattern, but that was also the hardest thing to decide on! This dress comes in 17 beautiful colorways, but I found this design to be the most reminiscent of the class and sophistication of 1950s clothing.

Not only is this dress beautiful, it’s versatile. I chose to pair this dress with my favorite vintage coat (also featured here), but it wasn’t an easy decision. I had several different pieces of outerwear lined up for this dress: some dressy, some casual, which proved that I could whip out this dress no matter the occasion.

This gorgeous 1950s-style dress from OUGES and its various colorways ranges from $19.99-29.99, so if you’re in search of a wallet friendly vintage-inspired dress, then look no further.

Dress: 1950s Sleeveless Patchwork Vintage Dress c/o OUGES | Coat: Vintage, similar here | Brooch: Vintage, similar here and here | Shoes: Urban Outfitters, similar here

blog-signature

22 thoughts on “1950’s Florals, a Touch of Yellow, and a Bit of Class

  1. This dress is lovely and doesn’t wash you out at all (I know what you mean about white – I think we share similar colouring). I think what really makes it is the yellow of your shoes. I also love mixing contemporary and vintage – I suppose if I had to define my own look, that would be it. Kx PS. I like the new look of your blog!

    Like

    1. Thank you, doll! I honestly wasn’t sure if I should pair these shoes with black tights, but I’m happy with how it all turned out!

      Mixing contemporary with vintage is the best way to go, particularly budget-wise I find.

      Thanks! I spent a lot of time trying to find a more streamlined look for my blog and I’m so happy with this layout. I’m glad you like it, too!

      Like

  2. White can be so tricky! But I think you nailed it! I love the yellow shoes with it and the coat works perfectly! Totally classic with just the right pops of modern/color!

    Like

Leave a Reply

