A Little Rain, Some Polka Dots, and Hometown Pride

I knew I had a hectic weekend ahead of me, so I anticipated a one hour block of time to take photos for this post. Low and behold it rained only during that hour. I’m the kind of girl who would normally bolt back home at the first sight of rain, but I knew this was my only shot at taking these pictures. Surprisingly, these are some of my best photos yet, if I do say so myself.

My weekend started off by taking my mom to her monthly doctors appointments. She’s there for at least five hours getting blood tests, bone marrow extractions and receiving her medication. Her blood is analyzed for any returning signs of Leukemia, which is the part I fear the most, but so far, so good.

In addition to my mom staying with us, one of Anthony’s best friends was in town for his 30th birthday. So here I was, trying to balance playing host, helping my mom move into her new home, and throwing a surprise party for Anthony.

I don’t think I’ve ever been so efficient in my life.

Initially, my mom was told that the Pod housing all of her belongings would arrive on Saturday. We then received a phone call informing us that it was being delayed until Monday.

Now, here is my mom, sitting in my car in the Homegoods parking lot, still feeling the effects of the pain killers she received before her bone marrow extraction, yelling at the Pods representative about how she took additional days off from work to move into this house and how her daughter only has one day in which she can help.

Something to note about my mom and I: we have anxiety, and I don’t mean that we get easily nervous. I mean we have clinically diagnosed anxiety in which we automatically jump to the worst conclusion possible whenever something goes wrong. Needless to say, both of us becoming anxious was the last thing she needed.

Despite this hiccup, we drove out to Greenfield, which is about two hours from Boston, and were met with surprise by the Pod firmly planted in her snowy driveway. The path leading up to her garage was covered in ice and, of course, that is where we wanted most of her items to be stored. I’ve never had to chip at/scrape ice off of a driveway before, but let me tell you, it’s hard work. Within the first two minutes my heart rate was elevated.

As the day wore on, we gradually made it halfway through the Pod and decided it was time to head over to my cousins house for dinner. Fortunately, they and my mom are extremely close and live only 20 minutes away.

It’s never dull with my cousins. What could be boring about a gay couple from Brooklyn in their 70’s with the most incredible artistic and culinary skills I’ve ever encountered? We ended up heading home around 11:30, blew up our air mattresses, and slept for a good eight hours.

The next morning the movers came and emptied the remnants of the Pod within two hours. We headed to a local coffee shop, had breakfast, and parted ways as I began my trek back to Boston.

Being on a strict schedule always makes me nervous. As a classically trained singer I’ve had it drilled into my head that if you’re on time, you’re late. Anthony’s family was arriving at our apartment at 2:30 and I needed time to put up the decorations, put myself together, and finish preparing the food.

I arrived home at 1:00, mostly because I was going 80 mph the entire time (oops). Fortunately, the party was a complete success and Anthony had no idea his family was coming.

Ok, so now that you know what my weekend consisted of, can you see why I only had one hour to take these pictures? It was a very specific hour that I chose, too, due to it’s optimal temperature.

Regardless of the rain, I had a lot of fun during this shoot, and by some miracle my hair didn’t turn into Hermione Granger’s in The Sorcerer’s Stone.

All in all, last weekend was exhausting, but so rewarding. I’m looking forward to relaxing at least somewhat this weekend, but with the Patriots playing in the Superbowl, I can’t promise that I won’t be screaming at the television on Sunday.

Did I forget to mention that I’m a sports fan? It may not seem like it, but I love baseball and football. Going to Fenway Park is one of my favorite summer activities. I guess that’s what living in Boston will do to you.

In support of the Patriots, I chose to wear one of my favorite skirts from Modcloth, the Streak of Success Midi Skirt in Navy with one of my favorite polka dot tops: the Hosting for the Weekend Tunic in Merlot. What could be better than looking your best while representing your team?

Love Modcloth, but have yet to purchase anything? What are you waiting for? Here’s a special deal just for you: 20% your entire order for new customers. Happy shopping!

blog-signature

41 thoughts on “A Little Rain, Some Polka Dots, and Hometown Pride

  1. I love the color combination! I think the white hose adds such a classic look. You would never know by looking at these pictures that you had any stress over the weekend!

    Like

  2. I love your outfit so much and I love that we both wore similar outfits within a week of each other! But I definitely liked your outfit over mine lol. Did I mention the other day I also wore tan shoes that day? ❤

    Like

  3. Your pictures turned out great! I am glad that your mom’s Pod showed up on time and you were able to help her move. It sounds like you had a very busy weekend, but sometimes those are the best!

    Like

  4. The pictures are wonderful and you have made a right decision to squeeze out an hour to take these photos. Your weekend seems pretty packed but it is always better to get busy than boring and dull. I am glad the pod showed up and your mom get to move her belongings into the garage. Hope she is doing great and healthy!

    Like

  5. I love this look, you do not see many people here rocking this look and I think it suits you perfect. I should consider trying out an outfit like this. Excellent choice of combination.

    Like

  6. We had a terrible time with Pods when we moved from FL to NJ. We ended up paying out much more than necessary because their reps don’t seem to understand the logistics of the business. Definitely wouldn’t recommend them to anyone.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. GOD DAMN GIRL! Ugh your poor mum, I can’t imagine having to go through all that at once at the doctor’s office. She’s such a bad ass! Applause to you for handling such a busy weekend – I am similar as you with anxiety and things changing/busy days. I get so overwhelmed and will snap at the smallest change because my mind goes to the worst case scenario of falling apart. Ugh. Gotta remember to breathe 😉

    All that side, you sure did manage to take some awesome photos. You look great!! =D

    Like

  8. I’m so sorry to read about your mom’s horrible experience. I wish you both all the best! Your today’s outfit is really feminine with a bit of vintage charm. I like it!:) ,

    Like

Leave a Reply

