Pinks, Reds, Harlequin, and Flower Beds

Everyone’s favorite holiday is right around the corner: Valentine’s Day! Ok, so most people actually hate it, and I used to be one of them. That is, when I didn’t have a Valentine.

Now that I’ve been with Anthony for over four years, Valentine’s Day is just another day. Don’t get me wrong, I love getting flowers and stuffed animals, but actual Valentine’s Day is so commercialized and I’d prefer a quiet night in with a home-cooked meal and warm chocolate chip cookies. I’m clearly not a high-maintenance broad.

That being said, I love holiday-themed outfits, and you’ll definitely catch me wearing one of these to work on Tuesday.

This first outfit consists of a vintage sweater that I found in this amazing shop called The Garment District. They sell second hand vintage and modern-day clothes at amazing prices. On Fridays they dump a huge pile of clothes on the warehouse floor to rummage through. Yes, I know, it sounds extremely primitive, but this sweater ended up costing me $0.25, so it was worth it.

The skirt, which is one of my favorites that I pined over for a long time, is from Pinup Girl Clothing. This Jenny Skirt in 1950s Harlequin Print goes with everything in my closet and has pockets! I will never get over the thrill of pockets.

And the shoes (yet another item I’ve longed for)! The Ione in Fairy Pink are from B.A.I.T. Footwear and if I can get my hands on every colorway I will! They definitely take some breaking in, but they’re worth every second of it.

Now on to outfit number two:

This is the Marnie Dress from Tatyana. I splurged on it last year for my birthday and have only worn it twice. Every time I see it in my closet I wonder why I bought it, until I put it on. I don’t know how I constantly become disillusioned by the beauty of this dress. It’s designed after a true 1950’s dress with a sweetheart neckline, full circle skirt, and dare I say it: pockets!

The Cropped Cardigan in White is from Pinup Girl Clothing. I have three of these in several different colors and I cannot wait to get my hands on more of them!

They are unbelievably comfortable, stretchy, and absolutely essential basics for ones wardrobe. Not to mention, they have the cutest three button detail down the front, and can even be worn alone as tops (if you don’t mind a little cleavage, that is).

I had to wear the Ione in Fairy Pink from B.A.I.T. Footwear for this outfit, as well. I mean, look at them. Could there be a more perfect shoe for Valentine’s Day-themed looks?

I hope you found some inspiration in these outfits, or at least a little joy. If anything, look at Valentine’s Day as just another occasion to dress up in red, white, and pink. As for me, I’ll be laying on the couch probably watching Food Network.

Which outfit do you prefer? I’m leaning towards the second one.

blog-signature

32 thoughts on “Pinks, Reds, Harlequin, and Flower Beds

  1. I love red one of my all time favorite colors. I usually stock up when the season is in because a lot of the time you cannot get nice red clothes and shoes all year round. Great pics

    Like

Leave a Reply

