A Cabbage Rose, Vintage Houndstooth, and the Beginning of Spring

It looks like winter is finally coming to an end and what could be more symbolic of the coming of spring than flowers?

My boyfriend, Anthony, bought me this jaw-dropping hair flower for Christmas from Sophisticated Lady Hair Flowers, and I can already tell its opened the door to a quick obsession with hair accessories.

That being said, I generally stay away from large accessories, as I’m a bit shy and don’t like drawing too much attention to myself (this coming from someone who dresses like she’s living in a different century is ironic, I know).

But the second I placed this cabbage rose in my hair, I was hooked.

In addition to the eye-catching rose is a white hydrangea, blue millinery berries, and a dark blue rhododendron. This unique mix of berries and flowers, some of which I had never heard of, makes this a stand-out piece that’s sure to draw attention.

This floral masterpiece sits securely in your hair with the help of a large alligator clip attached to it’s base, which only adds to the quality of Sophisticated Lady’s pieces. These are some of the most realistic hair flowers I’ve seen in production, some of which are even made with real silk.

So if you’re looking for ways to welcome in spring, look no further than Sophisticated Lady Hair Flowers. The shop contains over 100 different arrangements ranging from orchids to lilies, all of which are drop dead gorgeous.

Prices range from $7 to $22 USD and each item is shipped from Germany.

Blouse: Pinup Girl Clothing Voodoo Vixen Top in White | Skirt: Vintage 1960s Black & White Houndstooth Pencil Skirt from Coldfish Vintage | Shoes: Modcloth Swing Along Heel in Noir | Brooch: Luxulite Blue Baubles 1940s/50s Lucite Christmas Ornament Brooch

blog-signature

 

20 thoughts on “A Cabbage Rose, Vintage Houndstooth, and the Beginning of Spring

  1. I feel the same way about drawing attention to myself and that’s probably why I’m so shy about dressing day-to-day in midcentury ensembles lol. You look so great here!! 🙂 I just ordered some hair flowers from Stardust Dames on Etsy and at first I was a little hesitant about the cost, but once I got them and put them in my hair I was so happy with the quality and how they look. I’m thinking of trying my hand at making them since I am a crafty gal, but we’ll see lol.

    Like

  2. Beautiful flower on a beautiful girl! Yep, once you start, you can’t stop. I have just a handful of flowers that I really only wear on vacation or on special occasions (or the blog lol) but they’re such a fun way of dressing up an outfit. May have to look into this company soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

