Teal, Navy, and Spring Daisies

For as long as I can remember I’ve been fascinated by the glitz and glamour of the Golden Age of Hollywood.  The acting was over the top and the fashion was even more dramatic. The way that fabric draped over the female form was even more tantalizing than the most scandalous garments you can think of today, particularly within the 1940s. Some of the most beautiful women were present within this time: Lauren Bacall, Ingrid Bergman, and my favorite leading lady, Barbara Stanwyck.

My love for the aesthetics of this era knows no bounds, so you can only imagine my delight when I first put on the Megan Dress in Spring Daisy from Karina Dresses.

Take me back seven decades and make me Orson Welles’ leading lady because that’s how this dress makes me feel. The style is very similar to that of the 1940s working woman’s uniform dress, otherwise known as the cross-front or wrap dresses, and every detail is perfect.

Some wrap dresses wound around the entire figure, while others were only crossed in the front, just like the Megan dress. The sleeves have a slight puff at the shoulder, but slide halfway down the arm into a deep cap design, while the bodice tucks in the waist and slowly curves outward for a signature A-line skirt.

The Spring Daisy print is part of the Karina Signature line of in-house designs, along with five other equally beautiful patterns. The shade of teal used in this dress is positively radiant, and I chose to play off of the navy blue centers of each flower, and the 1940s design, with a navy fascinator hat.

Not only is this dress absolutely stunning, it’s unbelievably comfortable, as well. Made from breathable microfiber, this gown is designed for long-term wear and proves that you don’t have to sacrifice comfort for style. The material is machine washable and resistant to wrinkles, which is perfect for us ladies who are constantly on the go.

Karina Dresses come in US sizes XS-XXL. Each size has a range of measurements, for example I’m wearing the S/M, which corresponds to a 34-38 bust and a 27-31 waist. If you’re unsure which size would work for you, try their Best Fit Size Guide!

The Megan dress is priced at $108, as are all of Karina Dresses’ fabulous garments. In my opinion, this is an absolutely fair price for such a beautiful and versatile piece. They ship for free within the U.S. for orders over $150, but for those under that price point it’s only $5. Shipping internationally will range from $20-25 depending on the location.

I simply cannot stop gushing over this dress. It’s opened a doorway to a whole new world of affordable styles from the era I love the most. It’s flattering in every sense of the word and comfortable beyond belief. So if you’re looking for a show stopping gown that makes you feel like a 1940s film star, look no further than the Megan dress from Karina Dresses. And don’t forget to check out their new Spring line filled with endless stripes, polka dots, and florals!

Dress: Megan Dress in Spring Daisy c/o Karina Dresses | Shoes: Brown Leather Lace Up Oxfords – Office | Fascinator Hat – eBay
Special thanks to Trudy from Karina Dresses for this incredible collaborative opportunity.

Lovely Miss Lola Logo

40 thoughts on “Teal, Navy, and Spring Daisies

  1. It looks like such a flattering cut! I love things that fitted to the waist and then flair. My sister loves vintage fashion and swing dancing – I have to point her to Karina dresses!

    Like

  2. I’d also be gushing if I had this dress – it’s gorgeous. I like teal anyway, and it’s a perfect colour on you, but the navy blue adds more depth. It’s a beautiful shape as well. Simply glorious!! Kx

    Like

  3. You are ROCKING this dress!! The color is perfect with your raven locks and this building was the perfect spot for photos. You’re killing it on your blog lately!!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Sara! I was nervous about how the hat would look, but it turned out great! That building is just another piece of what was owned by the building I live in (back when it was a chocolate factory). I’m lucky to have great spots so close to my apartment, haha!

      Like

  4. What a lovely look! You are definitely bringing the old Hollywood vibe with this outfit. The dress is so pretty and a perfect color for spring.
    xo, SC // SCsScoop.com

    Like

  5. I keep seeing this brand everywhere and I have to say I like what I see. Dresses that bring both beauty and comfort are always a winner, of course. I’ve heard these tend to travel quite well too and there are a lot of my dresses I can’t say that about! This colour is really super on you, a pretty outfit indeed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

