April Showers Bring May Flowers and 1950s Summer Dresses

It’s finally starting to feel like spring here in Boston and nothing means spring more than florals. I’ve been slowly building my botanical wardrobe in preparation and couldn’t pass up this gorgeous vibrant floral ‘Audrey’ swing dress from Lindy Bop.

I’ve featured Lindy Bop in several of my previous posts (you can find the most recent one here) and there’s a very simple reason: they’re fabulous! Lindy Bop offers one of the widest arrays of vintage reproductions for budget-conscious pinups. Their collection includes flattering 40s frocks, eye-catching 50s novelty prints, and sophisticated 60s suits, making it the perfect one-stop shop for all of your midcentury needs.

My favorite style from Lindy Bop is called the ‘Audrey’ Swing Dress, which closely mimics the classic 1950s summer dress. One of the defining features of the summer dress was bare shoulders, exposing more arm than ever before. Patterns consisted of Hawaiian prints, or images of sunny vacations, solidifying the “tiki print” as a 1950s design staple.

The ‘Audrey’ showcases the boatneck neckline, figure hugging bodice and full circle skirt of the original 50s summer dress. The skirt comes down just below the knee, even with a thin petticoat underneath, making it work appropriate (as are most, if not all of Lindy Bop’s garments). The belt is thinner than what you would find on a vintage summer dress, which would probably measure about 2″ in width, but I prefer thinner belts.

The Audrey comes in several fabrics, but the vibrant floral swing dress is made from a  stretchy, light-weight cotton that’s machine washable on cold. The dress is fully lined, which is typical of a Lindy Bop gown- a small detail, but one that goes a long way in my book.

Being extremely size inclusive, Lindy Bop garments come in US sizes XS-6XL and UK sizes 8-26. For reference, I’m wearing a US S, which is my typical size for Lindy Bop dresses, although I’m generally a M in other brands (my measurements are 36-28-38). Their clothing tends to range in size, and they’ve recently begun adding measurements specific to each garment, so I highly recommend checking the size chart before ordering.

I just so happened to grab this floral beauty on sale for $16, but Lindy Bop’s Audrey swing dresses generally range in price from $39 to $46 (insert shocked emoji here). Like I said, they’re perfect for the pinup gal on a budget. Shipping within the U.S. is $7 and free when you spend over $125. For those of you across the pond, Lindy Bop has a U.K. site that offers £3 shipping within the U.K. and free shipping when you spend over £70.

Over the past year and a half I have purchased at least 10 dresses from Lindy Bop, and I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon. They offer the most wallet-friendly pinup clothes on the market and consistently impress with their unique patterns. Be on the look out for their sales, which they hold quite often, because when they have a sale it’s even more of a bargain than you could imagine. They offer up to 70% off of their already affordable pieces, so be sure to snag all of your favorites before someone else does (trust me, their dresses go fast). As for me, I’ll be stalking their site on a regular basis.

Dress: ‘Audrey” Vibrant Floral Print 50’s Style Swing Dress- Lindy Bop | Shoes: Swing Along Heel in Noir- Modcloth

Lovely Miss Lola Logo

21 thoughts on “April Showers Bring May Flowers and 1950s Summer Dresses

  1. I love spring! It’s my favorite season (minus the wind!) you look absolutely great in this dress!!! I love it

    Like

  2. The colors in that dress are absolutely perfect for summer! Love the look. Have a great week!

    Much love,
    Ashley | dearash.com

    Like

  3. The Audrey is my all time favourite dress, I have it in 6 prints already and every time I visit they seem to have brought out a new variation! Not good for the purse strings, but at least they’re great value! This one looks lovely on you! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

